A Day in the Life of Cass Martin

A Day in the Life of Cass Martin

9 Ways To Live a Healthy Lifestyle Reading A Day in the Life of Cass Martin 5 minutes Next A Workout for Your Eyes

Hi Everyone, my name is Cassandra Martin, also known as @Casssmartin, on social media. I work as a full-time construction laborer with my husband, Hunter. We have owned and operated our contracting business over the last eight years. In the previous four years, we’ve been buying and flipping homes. When I am not on the job site, I am in the gym training and trying to be my best.

I started in the construction industry by accompanying Hunter to work one day. That day, he was working on a basement remodel. I fell in love right away with the whole process of building and creating. Since then, we have completed hundreds of jobs from complete re-roofs and additions to dozens of property flips.

The most satisfying thing I have learned through working a physically demanding labor job is similar to the gym; you only get out what you put in. It has taught me to be patient and put the effort in, and it will indeed pay off. Many times the hard way is the only way! This mentality has helped me in my training significantly.

When I first started training, everything was so heavy and arduous and didn’t feel right. However, I just kept pushing knowing that one day it would pay off and things began to steadily become easier.

As I began the training process with the mindset of improving my health, I noticed that my workload on the job site started to become a little more comfortable as well. As I gained strength in the gym, lifting items such as full 5-gallon buckets and sheets of plywood that previously were a struggle became much more bearable. I credit both the gym for my success in construction and construction for my success in the gym. They have worked hand-in-hand in helping me get to where I am today.

Being involved in the fitness industry was never something I felt I could be a part of. It all happened so fast and was something I honestly never expected. I always thought being in the industry meant you had to compete and win bodybuilding shows to even have a chance of being accepted. As my knowledge of training, health, and nutrition grew, I realized competitions were not for me. I started posting on Instagram not knowing anything about social media or how it worked.

My husband and I never had social media before this all began. We started making little workout clips because it was fun and kept us accountable. However, I knew if we were going to record something I wanted to give it my all and leave nothing on the table. I was fortunate in having people take to my journey and support my efforts. To this day it is still so surreal for me to have the support of so many.

Here’s a glimpse of what a typical day looks like for me:

5:00 am: Yup, I wake up every day at this time. I like to get up early and start my day because if I sleep in, I feel like I am not being as productive as I feel my day is already behind.
5:15 am: I get online and check emails, Instagram comments and questions, and edit/create a video post for the day. I also take this time to log in to my training app, Lift With Cass, and interact with everyone, which is super motivating seeing everyone in the app putting in so much work. It makes me excited to start my day and hit the gym!
6:00 am: It’s time for breakfast--I have my first meal which is my pre-workout meal. It is usually a heavy carb meal such as oatmeal, fruits, and a protein shake. After breakfast, I’m ready for the gym.
7:15 am: Take my pre-workout either Hard Work, Pump Action, or Overtime. Depending on the day I like to switch between them for better results. Leave for the gym to train.
9:00 am: After the gym, I enjoy my 2nd meal. This meal always consists of protein such as egg whites and Greek yogurt for some additional protein and carbs.
9:30 am: Change into my work clothes and head to the job site. If we have to go pick up materials or accessories, this is the time we go stock up for the workday.
11:00 am: I shake up 1 scoop of protein and mix it with water.
1:00 pm: For my 4th meal it’s 5oz ground beef, 1 cup white jasmine rice, 1 cup steamed broccoli
4:00 pm: Another protein shake.
6:30 pm: Usually head home from work and stop if we need to get something for the next day such as food or anything we may need for the night. (Whenever I can catch a break or when I’m having my meals, I love to get online and write back to as many people as possible and answer any questions people might have. The same goes for business calls and emails that are also going on!)
8:00 pm: Meal 6- Dinner time! 6oz sirloin steak with 1 medium baked sweet potato and 1 cup of roasted asparagus.
10:00 pm: Get ready for bed and make sure I am caught up on emails and messages. Also, I like to take this time to hop back on social media and get back to as many people as I can! Sweet dreams!